Creating LRS Dataset from existing line/route feature class

06-15-2022 10:23 PM
GraemeBrowning
Occasional Contributor III

I'm new to Roads & Highways but have used ArcInfo Workstation Dynamic Segmentation and ArcMap Linear Referencing for intermittent intensive periods, often separated by years, over many years.  This week I've been using ArcGIS Pro 2.9.3 to successfully create a route feature class in a file geodatabase from a line feature class with a Route_ID, From_meas and To_meas fields, and then to display hatches and labels along the routes at various intervals.

I was then given access to a Location Referencing license and expected to start editing my routes using tools on the Location Referencing tab of the ribbon.  It was then that I came to realize that Location Referencing is much more than a new name for Linear Referencing (and Dynamic Segmentation), and that I would need to create an LRS dataset before I could even see  the Location Referencing tab of the ribbon.  I used the Create LRS geoprocessing tool from the Location Referencing Toolbox to create an empty LRS dataset, and can now see the Location Referencing tab of the ribbon.  However, I've not been able to use that to even digitize a simple test route so I'm turning my attention to whether I can use either a route feature class in a file geodatabase created from a line feature class with a Route_ID, From_meas and To_meas fields, or the line feature class itself to create an LRS dataset.

Is there any documentation or help available here that could guide me through the steps to do that?

I think these bits of information about my situation may be relevant:

• data is in a file geodatabase
  • no need for events along the routes at this stage
  • line feature class is in a geographic coordinate system and the from and to measures are in meters - to create a route feature class I projected them to a projected coordinate system, created the routes and then projected back.