Using a python toolbox for automation

Jump to solution
08-23-2021 06:41 AM
TobiasPlischke
New Contributor II

Hello there.

I'm currently trying to set up a python toolbox in order to automate the process of updating .csv-files, importing them, setting up the layers in the .gdb-file and finally colorizing the polygons.
If i paste the raw code (without the layout the toolbox needs) all methods work as desired but as soon as i fill the python toolbox with my methods and call them in the execute method, some of arcpy's methods don't seem to work properly.

The update of the .gdb-file seems to work in this toolbox, the TableToTable-conversion is the first one to fail. The table doesn't get imported into ArcGIS, which leads to problems later on when it comes to the colorization. The reason why i use arcpy.TableToTable_conversion() is because otherwise it wouldn't let me use these methods at all.

I am fairly new to ArcGIS/Arcpy and these toolboxes but i think the reason behind this could be the nonexisting access to some database/libraries..?

It just bothers me that everything works perfectly fine in the python window but doesn't work the same way when using the toolbox.

BTW: The goal is to be able to execute a single tool, pasting the code everytime should be avoided.

Let me know if you need more information and thanks in advance!

from arcgis.gis import GIS
import arcpy

class businessLogic(object):
    global gdbPath
    gdbPath = r"D:\example\test.gdb"
    global featureClass
    featureClass = r"Kreisgrenzen_2020\polygons"

def updateGDB(self):
        arcpy.Delete_management(gdbPath)
        arcpy.CreateFileGDB_management(r"D:\example", "test.gdb")
        lyr_Kreisgrenzen = r"D:\example\Kreisgrenzen_2020.lyrx"
        arcpy.mp.LayerFile(lyr_Kreisgrenzen)
        aprx = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject("CURRENT")
        aprxMap = aprx.listMaps("Karte")[0]
        aprxMap.addDataFromPath(lyr_Kreisgrenzen)

arcpy.AddMessage(fr"{gdbPath}")

def setLayers(self):