Spatial Join to points "within selected features"

01-26-2021 09:01 AM
Labels (3)
JessicaJThompson
Occasional Contributor II

Hello, 

I am relatively new to pro. I have been searching for the means to do a spatial join - one to many - only to the selected features within a layer. 

Specifics- I am working on a revitalization plan for 2 lower income neighborhoods. I have an national ACS layer with access to internet services data. I am looking to do a spatial join of the ACS data to only 2 of the neighborhoods in the municipal neighborhoods layer. 

I selected the 2 neighborhoods first, opened the spatial join tool by right clicking on the ACS layer in the TOC and proceeded from there. I ran the analysis and it was doing it for the entirety of the municipal neighborhood layer instead of just for the 2 that had been selected. 

I know I am missing something. Was also looking into Select By Attributes method similar and found this discussion Solved: Use selected polygon from layer to select points o... - GeoNet, The Esri Community

I can work my way around this for my current project, but I would love a solution for future analysis. Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
2 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

depending on the selection type, sometimes reversing the order of the inputs works.  For example, instead of points in polygon, you do a polygon contains points

... sort of retired...
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi Jessica!

Some GP tools automatically work on selected data only, and some do not (have a look in the esri help documentation per GP tool to see which ones work).