Select to view content in your preferred language

Spatial join of unique ID from one polygon layer to another

05-28-2024 12:22 PM
Labels (3)
CamrynHill
New Contributor II

Hello everyone!

This may be a silly question but how would you go about this process?

I'm still relatively new to GIS and am currently tasked to "Create a unique ID for lagoon features (polygon) as well as to update the barn feature class (polygons) to list each associated lagoon's unique ID." 

I've created the unique ID for the lagoons by creating a new field and calculating the field with the sequential number function, so that part is finished.

However, I'm stumped on the second half. I would think to relate the unique ID and go about that process but my boss is asking for me to spatially join them. I'm not well versed in spatial joining so any advice would be helpful.

Other information:

Lagoons  (blue) = 2,544 polygons total

Barns (black) = 8,490 polygons total

There are in most cases more than one lagoon per farm (x number of barns).

None of them intersect, so it would have to be by a geodesic distance.

CamrynHill_0-1716924052295.png 

CamrynHill_1-1716924123057.png

0 Kudos
2 Replies
marksm_macomb
Occasional Contributor

I have some questions, and then I have something for you to try based on the answers to those questions and it does not involve a spatial join. 

Is the main goal to get a list of lagoon ID's written to a field in the associated barn features? If there are multiple lagoons for a particular barn, does he want all the ID's listed in a single field? Split out into multiple fields?

If it's okay that all ID's are listed in a single field, here is a way you can go about it without doing a spatial join, but rather doing a field calculation on the "Lagoon ID" field within the Barn polygon, using geometry functions in Arcade (which is sort of like a manual spatial join anyways but just for a one time calculation).