Select to view content in your preferred language

Python Code for Map Series PDF export with multiple layouts

04-09-2024 08:20 AM
Labels (3)
Amp_Dev
New Contributor II

Hi everyone! 

I want to preface this by saying I am VERY new to coding so I could be doing this totally wrong. Also, please let me know if I'm posting this question in the wrong board.

In ArcGIS Pro, I wanted to be able to export a single PDF file consisting of Spatial Map Series Pages. However, I needed it to export two different layouts, alternating between layouts. For example, it would look like: FirstLayout Page 1, SecondLayout Page 1, FirstLayout Page 2, SecondLayout Page 2, FirstLayout Page 3, SecondLayout 3.... and so on.

The code I wrote works, but I have a few questions because I want to simplify it and somehow create a tool out of it so I don't have to input the code every time.

Here's the code with questions:

# coding: utf-8
# This code groups FirstLayout with SecondLayout and exports in one PDF file.

#FIRST QUESTION: do all of these need to be imported for this specific task? Does it even matter? I am still confused about the whole third-party module concept.

import arcpy
import os
import sys 

# Set the output PDF file path
output_pdf = r'C:\Users\BlahBlah\FilePath\Code Testing\Test.pdf'

#SECOND QUESTION: Is there a way to have the code auto fill layout names? 
Currently, I have to replace layout names every time I change it.

# List of layout names
layout_names = ['FirstLayout', 'SecondLayout']

# Reference the active ArcGIS Pro Project
aprx = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject("CURRENT")

# Create the PDF document
pdf_document = arcpy.mp.PDFDocumentCreate(output_pdf)

#THIRD QUESTION: Here is where I get messed up. I should be able to reference the map series below, under "# Iterate through the unique IDs" BUT if I don't reference the map series before that step, I get this error message:
"<string>", line 1, in <module>