Is the ASUS VivoMini VC66 ok for GIS analysis?

10-31-2017 04:38 AM
TanyaEsteves
New Contributor

Hi.

I'm thinking about buying a mini pc and I thought of the Asus VivoMini VC66 (VivoMini VC66 | Mini PCs | ASUS USA ). 

I'm doing my PhD and I'm goind to do a lot of geoprocessing, which include agent-based modelling and remote sensing of a large region. All the features seem attractive and apparently up to the task of what I need to do, but I'm not sure about the graphics card (Intel HD graphics 630).

I'm also looking at the MSI Trident 3 (https://www.msi.com/Desktop/Trident-3.html ). I figure that, since it's a gaming pc, it'll be OK for what I need for geoprocessing

Any help? Any other suggestion for a mini pc that would fit my requirements?

Thanks in advance.

Tanya

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

The system requirements for arcmap are here check the hardware, including video and software links.

Similar but a higher level of requirement for ArcGIS Pro

0 Kudos
TanyaEsteves
New Contributor

Thank you Dan.

I have seen that link before. But, while I kind of understand processor speeds and everything else, I don't get graphic card descriptions. I have no idea if that graphic card complies to what the specs it refers to. I have had both pages open and tried to compare info, but I just don't get it!

I have interest in computers, but (sadly) I'm not a computer geek (I mean this in the nicest way possible)!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If the specs match then you are good.. 

Another smart move... go to the store... ask to see ... 'X' ... browse to the link... on that page there is a link to check to see if it will run

like this....  

TanyaEsteves
New Contributor

Ok, this I didn't know. Thank you so much!

0 Kudos
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor