How to create a sequential unique ID

Jump to solution
09-01-2020 10:37 AM
Soper_Chuck
New Contributor III

I have a Survey123 form that will be used several times a day by over a hundred users. Every record (survey submitted) in my feature layer needs a unique ID. It isn't easy to ensure unique numbers in Survey123. I want to populate the Unique_ID field with COB1, COB1, COB2, and so on. (I prefer that the starting number is 100). Once a record is set, I can't change it again (it may have been exported). I think that a calculated field could be scheduled to run daily in ArcGIS Pro. (I don't entirely know how to do that.) I'm using AcrGIS Pro 2.6 on Windows 10. To start the sequence, I would need to count the number of non-null (or not empty string) values in the Unique_ID field. 

I'm new to ArcGIS Pro and Python. I wrote the code below from this example:

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/tool-reference/data-management/calculate-field-examples.htm

rec=0

def autoIncrement():

global rec

pStart = 1 

pInterval = 1

if (rec == 0): 

rec = pStart 

else: 

rec += pInterval 

textRec = "COB" + str(rec)

return textRec

To get the starting value of the sequence, I would need to count all non-empty fields (not null or not empty string). I think that this post shows how to do that: https://community.esri.com/thread/224234-field-calculator-for-not-null-fields.

I'm trying to put this all together. Am I on the right track? Again, I'm new to ArcGIS Pro and Python.

Thanks,

Chuck

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Have you taken a look at Database Sequences? You would then need to create an Attribute Rule and you use Arcade rather than python in the rule.

Another approach is to use the FID or OID of your record and concatenate it with your prefix in the field calculator:

yourFieldName = f'COB{!OBJECTID!}'