Select to view content in your preferred language

Does the Shape* column have to be added into the attribute table when using ArcGis Pro?

08-01-2024 01:01 PM
Labels (1)
DannyMunoz
New Contributor II

Hello esri community, 

I am trying to understand the how the attribute table suppose to know what type of shape it has to be when importing data created (csv file). I know the sentence I stated may not make sense but what I trying to get at is, I'm currently trying to import a csv file that contains data of open spaces within a specific city. What data should I include for ArcGis Pro to know that "oh that a polygon" and create a polygon around the designated space. Is that something that has to be done via ArcGis Pro or can a column be inserted to indicate the type of shape. 

I'm still new to it, and I do apologize if I made it sound harder than is seems. 

Thanks

6 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

what data are in your csv?

show a row or two with the field names

If there are coordinates in there, what is the form?

And finally, the shape field is added to a featureclass in a file geodatabase or a shapefile.  If the shape field is in your table and no other visible coordinates, then you won't be able to "map" your data, especially if it is supposed to be a polygon

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
DannyMunoz
New Contributor II

DannyMunoz_0-1722633760130.png

*The image doesn't consist of latitude and longitude coordinates, I am working on it currently.