Select to view content in your preferred language

Creating Attribute Rules for Intersecting Features and Preserving M to M Relationship Class

10-18-2023 02:54 PM
Boomer87
New Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I am new to creating attribute rules and am trying to copy a field from an intersecting feature into a specified layer in my ArcGIS Pro document in a FGDB

Essentially, I have two separate project layers that are polygon layers in the same file geodatabase. Both of them consist of projects from two separate departments.

ProjectsA - Has a project_number field for all existing intersecting project_numbers from ProjectsB

ProjectsB - Has a project_number field

I want to create attribute rule(s) that ensure that any time a new project number is written to ProjectsB, that only the intersecting polygon(s) from ProjectsA are updated with the same project number that was added or updated in ProjectsB.

I have already created an FME script that took all intersecting polygons from ProjectsB and inputted them into a project_number field in ProjectsA. I have a second project_number_display field in the instances whereby projects from ProjectA intersect with multiple projects from ProjectsB and separated each project_number with a semi colon ';', as the initial project_number field could not account for multiple project_numbers from ProjectsB. 

I then created an intermediary table for all of the intersecting project_number ProjectA and ProjectB polygons, as well as duplicate records for each instance in which there were multiple project_numbers (i.e. PP2023-12; PP2023-05) for a single project from ProjectA.

I used table to relationship class geoprocessing tool to create a M to M relationship class between the two, so that whenever a user clicks on a polygon from ProjectsA, the related record will show any intersecting polygons from ProjectsB and vice versa. This includes instances where there are multiple intersecting projects from either.