Converting an Arcade expression into Python

12-31-2020 12:49 PM
JasonBennett
New Contributor II

Currently, I use the following Arcade expression on a field calculation to count the number of attachments a feature has and set that number in the field.

return Count(Attachments($feature))

Is there a simple way to do the same thing in Python? I just want to get a count of the attachments.

5 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

Jason - Example 2 in this link would do the same thing in Python I believe.  Word of warning, I am not a Python expert by any means though!  Good luck!

XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi @JasonBennett ,

To count the attachments, would require more line, since you would have to go from the feature to the related table with the attachments and query the attachments before you can do the count.

Are you trying to update an attribute on the layer to indicate the number of attachments per feature? Is the data static? If not, you will have to recalculate the values when the features and attachments are updated-

JasonBennett
New Contributor II

Thanks for the info. I am trying to update an attribute with the total number of attachments per feature. The data is not static. In my current solution, I already have to periodically run the calculation.

It sounds like Python may not be worth the trouble here, especially since I have a working solution. I want Python to become a common part of my workflow in ArcGIS Pro and thought converting this would be good practice.

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor