Averaging multiple point data layers

Jump to solution
02-27-2022 05:49 AM
GraceWood
New Contributor II

Hello,

I've used the merge tool in ArcGIS Pro 2.7 with a 'mean' rule to find the average of several point data layers of monthly sea salinity. I am unsure what I did wrong as the output layer has far more information than any of the input fields. To clarify, each layer had around 500,000 fixed points of data, I merged 12 layers and the output now has around 6,000,000. So I assume the data has all been placed into one layer, but not averaged.

Could anyone help explain where I may have made a mistake? Or if this is actually the wrong tool to use?

I am new to this software so any help would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

When you say "gridcode" was the data originally in a "grid" format?  It would be a lot easier to work with rasters than points because you can use

Cell Statistics (Spatial Analyst)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

and get the average of a bunch of input rasters on a cell-by-cell basis.  If you need points from that, you can do the conversion after you have the result

... sort of retired...

View solution in original post

7 Replies
KimGarbade
Occasional Contributor III

I'm assuming you mean that one location (having the same ID across all of the input layers) has multiple records in the source layers (maybe different sampling events) and you want to average them?  Can you give us an idea of the result you want to achieve?  I.E. Do you want the average in a separate table, do you want to label each point with the average, generate a report, symbolize based on the average value? 

0 Kudos
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Are your points from multiple layers sharing the exact same coordinate values?

If not, you may have to aggregate the points into clusters

Aggregate Points (Cartography)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

then summarize the point values within the clusters