Automatically export species distribution maps

03-14-2021 02:22 PM
Labels (1)
MladenZadravec
New Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to this and when trying to google my way towards a solution, I've gotten stuck - so I'd appreciate any and all constructive feedback and guidance you could give me.

ArcGIS Pro version: 2.7.1

The situation: I have a shapefile which contains distribution data (points) for many species. From it I need to get distribution maps (.jpg), in a way that there's one species shown on each map. The points need to be represented with the same symbol, but different colour (based on the value in a specific field in the attribute table, the values being "published" and "unpublished"). The extent, scale bar, north arrow and legend are all the same, with the name of the species for which the map is being written either in the legend, or in a dynamic text field.

I know I can do that manually, by setting up an SQL definition query, varying the species name and exporting each map manually, but I have hundreds of species in the shapefile and that would take a lot of time... so I'm looking for a smarter, automated, solution.

What I tried: At first I tried using Map Series, but that returns one map per data point (thousands of maps), all with different extents. It didn't matter if I set the species' name in the Group By field, I got the same result. I'm hoping that there's a way to get what I need through Python. To that extent, I tried cobbling up a script and got this far:

Spoiler

# import arcpy module:
import arcpy

# overwrite output:
arcpy.env.workspace = "CURRENT"
arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True

# Output path:
OutPath = r'G:\01_Fast_DATA\ArcGisPro\Kristian_diplomski\Kristian_diplomski.gdb'

# Use this if you need to check the exact spelling of the field name:
for field in fields:
print("{0} is a type of {1} with a length of {2}"
.format(field.name, field.type, field.length))