Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGIS Pro is great

04-21-2023 05:31 AM
lucas08
New Contributor

I really don’t understand the hate. At the beginning of the pandemic I switched from ArcMap because the user sign-in option made switching between computers super convenient. The UI took a bit to get used to use, but overall I’m a fan. Categorizing projects has been a dream. Like setting up multiple maps and multiple layouts and a catalog tab in a single project is a dream come true. Packaging products and sharing everything makes sharing a one click process.

In my basic workflow experience, mapping has literally never been easier. The level of entry has lowered exponentially.

2 Replies
JustinJohnston
Occasional Contributor II

I have never used ArcMap, so I can't compare.  I am self-taught on ArcGIS Pro, and I agree with WIMapper920 that the software is incredibly glitchy, crashes and freezes often, and is often slow.  I often end up setting up a geoprocessing task and then go to some other software to continue working on other things while ArcPro spins.  It is often not intuitive, but over time I have learned the easier/right ways of doing things in it.  I have made several internal training videos that I have saved on a sharepoint site internally to remind myself how to do things after it took me a while to figure out the first time. I find myself rewatching those videos often. Scenes are still incredibly problematic.  Nothing in scenes works the way you intend, especially sharing to ArcGIS Online. Often, the solution is sharing everything again, doing nothing different, and yet you get a different result.  It isn't always that it works, but rather different things don't work on the next attempt.  Try again and again until it works, which seems to promote insanity.  Drawing things in scenes is never as easy as the example videos ESRI has created.