ArcGIS Pro: how to QUERY a text field with a numeric operator

08-06-2018 06:59 AM
ChuckBenton
Occasional Contributor

I'm using an AGOL based feature layer that has all its features stored as text.  I want to use a query such as "Tot_Value >= 500000", however I get an error since Tot_Value is a text string.  I recall an earlier version of ArcMap allowed this type of operation using the same data source, so I believe it can be done.  I'm not a SQL expert, but assume I can cast this to an Int or similar, however a web search is coming up dry, and attempts on my part generate errors.  Suggestions? 

0 Kudos
33 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

'int("Tot_Value") >= 500000'  would be too easy I suppose (or some variant)

But you don't get the option in the sql builder, So I suspect adding a new field and doing the conversion and test in a def is your best option

0 Kudos
ChuckBenton
Occasional Contributor

Yep... just gets an syntax error....

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus
def func(val, threshold):
    """convert and compare"""
    if val is None:
        out = val
    elif int(val) >= threshold:
        out = 1
    else:
        out = 0
    return out

# expression
# func(!YourTextField!, 50000)

make a new field and figure out what you want to do when the threshold is exceeded as in the example above

MichaelVolz
Esteemed Contributor

What if your system is locked down and schema changes such as this require extensive testing to downstream apps?  This seems like functionality that should be built into the software and not require the addition of almost a duplicate field.

0 Kudos
ChuckBenton
Occasional Contributor

Yep, but it needs to be viable in the ArcGIS Pro Select by Attribute SQL Expression Window.

0 Kudos
PeteCrosier
Occasional Contributor III

You can CAST in SQL:

CAST(SomeField AS INT) >= 500000

ChuckBenton
Occasional Contributor

One would think so but I still get an error

Curiously, if I drop the WHERE, I get a different error.