Arcade scripting in Attribute Rules

04-01-2021 11:15 AM
LorindaGilbert
Occasional Contributor II

Hi All,

I've gotten over my hurtle with creating attribute rules now, but I'm a newbie with Arcade - either in the WAB or in Pro.

I'm attempting to create a Calculation rule that is based on If Then Else statements.  I am getting a message about Invalid expression.  Error on line 8.  Open parenthesis expected.

Here's the beginning of my expression; at the end I do have return eru;  As this is the field that I am attempting to calculate.  There will be three of these set up so as to do the required pre-calcs before getting the last two calculations that are the real ones to be returned and saved.

It is highly likely that I'm missing just something simple, I thought that I was following the examples that I found for doing calcs and using if statements.  But ....

var fs = FeatureSetByName($datastore,"IDF_Stormwater");
var billclass = fs["MultiUserType"];
var eru = fs["ERUArea"];
var parea = fs["IDFArea"];
var pimparea = fs["ImperviousArea"];
var dwell = fs["Dwellings"];

if billclass == 'D'
eru = 0
else if billclass in ('V','I','H')
eru = Round(parea/43560,2)
else if billclass == 'R'
eru = Round(parea*(2000/7760)/2000,2)
else if billclass in ('A','O')

Thanks,

Lorinda

0 Kudos
19 Replies
Luke_Pinner
MVP Regular Contributor

Not altogether familiar with arcade, but it uses Javascript like syntax.

So your statement should look something like:

if (condition1) {
  //  block of code to be executed if condition1 is true
} else if (condition2) {
  //  block of code to be executed if condition1 is false and condition2 is true
} else {
  //  block of code to be executed if the condition1 is false and condition2 is false
}

For your code, something like:

if (billclass == 'D') {
  eru = 0
} else if (['V','I','H'].indexOf(billclass) >= 0) {  
    eru = Round(parea/43560,2)
} else if (billclass == 'R') {
    eru = Round(parea*(2000/7760)/2000,2)
} etc...
return eru;