Arcade help - labels

Jump to solution
3 weeks ago
AmberKelly
New Contributor III

Hi All,

Apologies if my terminology is incorrect - I'm a novice in Arcade.

I am trying to avoid having multiple label classes by merging my individual arcade label class expressions into one. However I am finding that if one return is met, the following return will not be labelled.

Perhaps the best explanation is an example:

I want to label X when ASSETID is not NULL, additionally i want to label Y when DIAMETER is not NULL AND when width is either NULL or "UNKNOWN". 

if (IsEmpty($feature.ASSETID) == False){
return "X"}

else if ((IsEmpty($feature.DIAMETER) == False) && ((IsEmpty($feature.WIDTH)) || ($feature.WIDTH == "UNKNOWN")))
    if ($feature.DIAMETER != "UNKNOWN"){
    return "Y"}

I want both labels to appear, but it seems if X is labelled then Y isnt dealt with. I will eventually have a few more labels (eg Z...) I want to also include but am hoping to get this working first.

In researching I have found examples on how to create multiple if else expressions on a single label but haven't found anything on creating multiple labels without any relationship to the previous "returns" output within the one label expression.

Thanks for taking your time to look at this and I hope this makes sense.

Cheers

Amber

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Any time you have a return, that ends the expression, and nothing after that will be evaluated. Also, whether you have a return in the first block or not, since the second condition has "else" in front of it, it will only evaluate if the preceding condition is false.

And also, the second condition block has a nested If statement, but only a single closing bracket, so it would probably throw an error if the expression got past the first condition.