Select to view content in your preferred language

Arcade Expression Help - If value in one field is NULL, then make the value in a different field a specific value.

Jump to solution
12-01-2023 10:46 AM
JamesBooth
New Contributor III

JamesBooth_0-1701456150728.png

I'm getting an error with the expression in the image above. I'm basically trying to set the UNIT value to be either a "Y" or "N" depending on the value of the UNIT_NUM field (UNIT NUMBER alias). If there is no values (NULL) in the UNIT, then I want the UNIT value to be "N", otherwise I want it to be "Y". Any help with my syntax is greatly appreciated. I'm new to Arcade! 🙂 Syntax is also written below in case image doesn't come through:

var a = $feature.UNIT_NUM
var b = $feature.UNIT
var c = "Y"
var d = "N"

return IIf(!IsEmpty(a), d,
else{return c}

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
JamesBooth
New Contributor III

Above did work thank you! The rule was validated and is accepted.

My only problem now is that when I saved the rules, all of my address points dissapeared! Every single one. But they are still in the attribute table! I have the symbology to be unique value, so it's not a symbology issue. I went back to my attribute rules and deleted that new rule, and the points reappear. Really strange!

In my Address points feature class, I have a large number of fields. Two of them are UNIT and UNIT_NUMBER. Many of my existing address points have values for the UNIT_NUMBER. Many of them however are also Null values. I want the existing addresses and any new addresses to auto-populate the UNIT field with a Y or a N. I want the UNIT value to be "Y" if there are is a unit value in the UNIT_NUMBER field. And I would like the UNIT value to be "N" if the UNIT_NUMBER is Null.

I'm really not sure why the new rule, which seems to be valid, would visually remove ALL of my address points. ESRI bug? Or am I just missing something obvious?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
CodyPatterson