Adding a cross section in ArcGIS Pro Scene

04-29-2021 09:07 AM
Labels (1)
FrederikkeHansen
New Contributor II

Hi! I'm very new to creating 3D images with ArcGIS Pro, so bear with me please!

I have some geophysical data collected along a straight line on the surface. I want to add this to my scene in ArcGIS Pro to create a sort of cross section of the subsurface. I want to know how I should structure the data in a .grd file (or other file format that I can write in MATLAB) in order to have the correct effect. If I represent the data as a grid, each column would have a different [x,y] coordinate, and each row would have a different z coordinate. I believe when writing a 2D .grd file for [x,y] viewing only, I would simply indicate the x- and y-coordinate of the first corner, as well as a standard cell size, which would be the same in both directions.

FrederikkeHansen_0-1619712374675.png

How would this be structured in 3 dimensions? Or is there a better way to do it?

Hopefully this makes sense, otherwise let me know. Thanks you advance!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hi Frederikke,

The format you have included is a raster format, I don't think that is what you want from your description.

I suggest exporting the data with a shot-line identifier (integer) and length along the shot-line, and read that as a table of your data with a id number, a length along the line, and then any attributes you want to plot.

Then digitize the shot line in map space in ArcGIS Pro, create a route, and map your table to the shot-line using "Linear Referencing". (Look up that term in the help.)

From there you'll have points that are marked with xyz, you can plot the points in 3-D, create a line or plot the data in 3D with extrusion or whatever you want from there.

Hope this helps.

0 Kudos
FrederikkeHansen
New Contributor II

Thanks for your response!