Conversion Tool: Convert from archaic formats to modern formats

06-06-2023 10:17 AM
Labels (1)
AlfredBaldenweck
MVP Regular Contributor

With the upcoming retirement of ArcMap, a lot of users and organizations will lose access to it entirely.

With this loss also comes the loss of access to a whole bunch of data in older formats, such as coverages or personal GDBs.

I would like to have a conversion tool that grabs whatever data is in these now-unsupported formats and places them into a file GDB, similar to how we can import MXDs.

Without a tool for this, a bunch of people are going to get stuck with data that they can't even read to find out what it is. Please help users prepare for the transition by providing them with tools to manage it.

8 Comments
ThomasCrossman

... and I would include PC ArcINFO coverages in that list of archaic formats to handle.  Seriously.  Eons ago (late 90's), I worked as a GIS Analyst for a non-profit planning commission that dealt with huge data sets, especially environmentally and cadastrally related, like land use/land cover and parcels.  Non-profits like that could not afford ArcINFO Workstation, but PC ArcINFO was an affordable (if ill-fated) solution.  Most of the planning commissions used PC ArcINFO (but, yes, were in the process of switching over to ArcView GIS), and the bulk of data sets created to that point were in PC ArcINFO coverages.  Those data included digitized information going back 50+ years or more in some cases.  I know for a fact that a lot of those PC ArcINFO coverages weren't converted to shapefile or ArcINFO coverages at the time:  no money or time to do so.  I also know for a fact that those PC ArcINFO coverages still exist (at least at my former place of work), archived and copied forward for posterity over all the intervening years.  They are a treasure trove for historical analysis.  Access to those data should be maintained.  Really, all you would need is read access and the ability to write out to a curr