Sharing Maps Outside of Organization

Jump to solution
05-07-2013 08:09 AM
KristinAldous
New Contributor II
I am new to using ArcGIS online, so I hope you'll excuse this rather simple question.

I am trying to share my newly created map with non-GIS users.  I've used ArcGIS Online for uploading my data, and configured pop-ups in ArcGIS Explorer(different formatting of graphs). 

When I go to share my map in either ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Explorer Online as a URL link I am redirected to the sign-in page of ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Explorer Online.  Map is shared as public.  I am able to share the map as HTML embeded in a webpage, however only if I use ArcGIS Online to grab the HTML tag.  This would be fine however I lose my graph formatting.  Using the HTML tag from ArcGIS Explorer Online will again ask me to sign-in before viewing the map.

Is there a way to share my map directly by URL (or HTML), keep my ArcGIS Explorer Online formatting, and not have to ask my client to create an ArcGIS Online account or join my organization?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
I suspect your organization website in ArcGIS Online has disabled anonymous access. Thus, when someone tries to access the web map through your org URL, they get challenged to sign in. When you share the link, are you simply copying the URL in the address bar? Can you share the URL to your web map? There are options to generate a link, like from the share button when viewing the map.

Alternatively, just replace your org URL with the public site url... So, where you see http://orgname.maps.arcgis.com..., just replace the "orgname.maps" part with "www"

Thanks,

Mike

View solution in original post

6 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor