Select to view content in your preferred language

Offline Maps 'Sync' creates 'Duplicated Data'

08-07-2023 07:37 AM
AaronHocz
Emerging Contributor

I've been battling this issue for quite sometime now. I'm not sure if this is a ArcGis Online question or an Enterprise question, but I'll make two posts to cover bases.  Enterprise and Portal is relativity new to us and we're self taught, learning as we go.  

We have an 'Electric Network' database that is edited everyday in the office using ArcMap. We add new accounts, add power lines, poles etc.... We want our workers to have the latest/greatest info in the field, so we have a script that runs each night and exports data from our 'Electric Network' to a SQL Enterprise Geodatabase.  I'm not a code guys, but I think the script deletes everything in each layer and appends it back with the new stuff added as well. From that data, I have published Web Layers to our Portal and use these layers to build maps for our workers to use in Field Maps.  These layers are for viewing purposes only, no edits will be made to these layers as they will be overwritten each night when the script runs.   

Our organization relies heavily on Offline Maps as we don't have good cell service in our area. This is where we run into problems.