Need a simple final project idea using Python 2.7 in ArcMap.

04-29-2020 08:18 PM
ShalinR
New Contributor II

Need any simple idea that would come to your mind. It is due in a few days, but I've been battling with what to create a program on, also Im a newbie when it comes to coding, even in Python. Any help is appreciated it!

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Katie_Clark
MVP Regular Contributor

I'm assuming this is for a school project....it would help to know a bit more about the project requirements so we know what scope the script should cover.

A few things that come to mind as very important for someone just learning how to make script tools in ArcGIS is understanding how to receive user input for script variables with GetParameterAsText.

A simple place to start would be thinking of a repetitive workflow that involves many steps that you can combine in one script. One example that comes to mind for something I might run into in my work is this - for every single county in a state, you need to clip the states stream data just for that county. 

Hope that helps with the brainstorming, at least!

Best,
Katie

“The goal is not simply to ‘work hard, play hard.’ The goal is to make our work and our play indistinguishable.”
- Simon Sinek
ShalinR
New Contributor II

Hi, thank you for your kind reply. My professor mentioned we can do anything related to geoprocessing, it does not have to be anything extraordinary, it just has to apply what we learned in our activities (employing clip, buffer, etc., tools in our project). 

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Every geoprocessing tool has an arcpy syntax provided in online help. For example take a look at the clip tool; scroll down until you see the Syntax heading...

That should just about do it....
ShalinR
New Contributor II