How to copy feature layer schema without downloading?

07-02-2020 09:28 AM
JoeBryant1
Occasional Contributor III

I'd like to save myself some work by not creating a feature service layer from scratch. I have edit access to the secure feature service layer I'd like to base my new feature service on, but it has not been enabled for downloading (I don't own the service and I don't have publishing rights in the organization that owns it). I don't need the data from the current service - I just want to create an identical feature service layer schema for a similar workflow in another project.

I tried to use AGOL Assistant's copy tool, but I cannot copy an item I do not own.

I then tried copying and pasting the json definition for the service in to a text file, and creating a new service using that json file, but AGOL only accepts GeoJSON as input (the json text does not start with "type": "FeatureCollection"). I'm not a developer, so forgive any gaps in my knowledge regarding JSON files.

What is the easiest way to accomplish this? Any tools in Pro?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
GeoJosh
Esri Regular Contributor

Hey Joe,

If you have access to the REST endpoint of the service and Python 3, you can get this done using ArcPy. Here's a quick example I spun up. It's not perfect, but I ran it on a few different feature layers and it seems to work.

import requests
import json
import arcpy

# Set variables

featureLayerURL = "https://sampleserver6.arcgisonline.com/arcgis/rest/services/DamageAssessmentStatePlane/FeatureServer/0"
fgdbPath = r"C:\temp\test.gdb"
featureClassName = "TEST1"
featureClassGeometry = "POINT"

# Get feature layer information in JSON format

r = requests.get(featureLayerURL + "?f=json")

# Get field information from the response

fields = json.loads(r.text)["fields"]

# Maps feature layer field types to feature class field types

field_types = {
    "esriFieldTypeString""TEXT",
    "esriFieldTypeDate""DATE",
    "esriFieldTypeDouble""DOUBLE",