Managed expression. Arcade help for beginner.

Jump to solution
01-13-2022 11:21 AM
Marokapara
Occasional Contributor

Hi there,

I've made two expressions EF and Ha using Arcade that I'd like to use in a Map Viewer pop-up. I've created them in the Managed Expressions area.

If I want to use both of them to create an additional expression, how do I do this?

I'm still new to Arcade and don't have a background as a coder.

Hopefully this is an easy question for someone!

Marokapara_0-1642100688195.png

Marokapara_1-1642100728690.png

I tried $feature.EF/$feature.Ha. That doesn't work though because $feature are fields written into the table and Arcade is front end only?

EF's expression looks like this.

When($feature.ParameterTotal=='No vegetation Utility areas (tracks, buildings, yards)', 0,
$feature.ParameterTotal=='No vegetation Ponds/river/stream', 1,
$feature.ParameterTotal=='Non-woody vegetation Wetland/swamp/bog Grazed by animals Cultivated Fertilised', 2,

'No value');

Note: I will also need to swap out $feature.ParameterTotal to Parameter Total (Web arcade version). Currently I have it hardcoded while I try to figure out the correct expression syntax.

Ha's expression looks like this.

Round($feature.Shape__Area/10000,2)

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You'd need to set your default output to another number instead of 'no value'. When your script goes to divide the text "no value" by Ha, it gives a NaN, since that doesn't make sense.

You might consider an If statement to check for that value and return something else.

var Total = Concatenate([$feature.Parameter1,$feature.P2,$feature.P3, $feature.P4],'  ')
var TotalTrim = Trim(Total)

var EF = When(
    TotalTrim=='No vegetation Utility areas (tracks, buildings, yards)', 0,
    TotalTrim=='No vegetation Ponds/river/stream', 1,
    TotalTrim=='Non-woody vegetation Wetland/swamp/bog Grazed by animals Cultivated Fertilised', -2,
    'No value'
);