Select to view content in your preferred language

How do I setup AGOL notebook to use hosted feature layer and Arcpy management module?

06-06-2024 12:52 PM
LMedeirosUI
Occasional Contributor II

Hi all -

I'm pretty new to all things Python, Esri, etc... in that stage where you know some things, but enough to realize you know very little. I do a fair amount of contract work for one organization and have created Survey123 forms for that store the data on AGOL ("Source"), but I am employed by another organization ("Target") with more access to Esri products. I have a need to run a model that updates some data in the Source feature layers and created a model in ArcGIS Pro (licensed via the Target organization). This works fine, but requires that I leave Parallels (running Windows 11) open. I am hoping to move this task to AGOL Notebooks in the Target organization so that it will just run without needing the Windows Task Scheduler.

Some Info:

• The Source feature layer collection is publicly available
  • In ArcGIS Pro I use a model to do the following in both the feature layer and related table:
    1. Open Source Feature Layer
    2. Select attributes needing updating using SelectLayerByAttribute
    3. Convert text string to a date using ConvertTimeField (aka Convert Temporal Field in GP Tools within ArcGIS Pro)
  • I have been using Advanced Notebooks to test this in AGOL
  • Generally <10 attributes need updating for any particular task
  • Depending on the approach I take, I get error messages indicating (1) that the dataset does not exist/is not the appropriate type or (2) that the tool cannot be executed
    • Unfortunately I have not been able to determine why I get one or the other... just not good note keeping on my part probably
  • If I try to run a notebook in ArcGIS Pro to accomplish the steps performed by the model, the script will not work unless the feature layer collection has been added to a map