Using Location-Allocation to determine % demand that is supplied for shortest distanc

04-24-2013 11:36 AM
JamiePicardy
New Contributor
Hello --

I am new to using Network Analyst -- and currently exploring the Allocation-Location options of ArcGIS 10.1.  I am trying to find the right tool to distribute a fixed supply of vegetables (pts. of supply) to consumers (pts. of demand) in terms of least cost (as distance).  Using the Maximize Capacitated Coverage option, I can see the facilities that distribute to the demand points using the SHORTEST distance criteria.  HOWEVER, this RESULT does not show (1) the supply utilization --> how much of the total supply (capacity) has been distributed or (2) the demand fulfilled --> how much of the demand was met (in terms of % demand met at each point).

Can someone please let me know if I am using the right tool -- or if I need to use a combination of tools to solve this problem?

Thank you,
Jamie P.
Doctoral student in Ag, Food and Environment at Tufts University
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor
You are using the right tool (If I understand the problem correctly). And the information you are looking is available. It is on the facilities table. Each chosen facility has fields that tell you how many demand points and sum of demand assigned to them. You can sum up the total demand and the total supply and the total demand allocated and do the division to find the percentages.
0 Kudos
JamiePicardy
New Contributor
Thank you Mr. Jay Sandhu for the speedy reply.  I will try your suggestions later today once I am in the GIS lab.

I appreciate your feedback.

Have a good Thursday,
Jamie
0 Kudos
JamiePicardy
New Contributor
Hello again Mr. Sandhu: