Simple optimal route application

11-07-2011 06:13 AM
PhuNguyen3
Emerging Contributor
I want to code a simple application using java that read data from street shapefile, calculate the shortest path between two vertices using an algorithm and display the route in MapBean of my app. What is want is a custom and simple route solver, for algorithm demo purpose only.

It might be simple task but the problem is that I am new with ArcGIS, and new with geographic field too. So I found many difficults in implementing the demo. I think the trouble is how to determine the adjacent edges of a vertex in the network. Is there any kind of junction connectivity table stored in shapefile  and how to read these data, using java.

Any help would be greatly appreciated !
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
PhuNguyen3
Emerging Contributor
Thank you all !

My algorithm is an improvement of LPA*, thus, it needs a heuristic estimation like the one of A*.

As Michael said, I look at the coordinate system of my shapefiles, and found out that it is in "GCS_Assumed_Geographic_1". So, i change the Geographic Coordinate System to Projected Coordinate System using Project tool in ArcToolbox. (i changed it to NAD_1983_California_Teale_Albers, pretty uncertain about how they work :D). Is that OK?

After that, i re-create my network dataset and check out the distance using Pythagorean theorem. It work ! The result is real distance in meter 😄
0 Kudos
MichaelRice
Deactivated User
(i changed it to NAD_1983_California_Teale_Albers, pretty uncertain about how they work ). Is that OK?

It is up to you to decide which projection works best for your particular purposes, as there are certainly many to choose from, and each has their own unique properties. Here are some good resources to become more familiar with projections and their associated properties:

1. What are map projections?

2. About map projections

3. What are projected coordinate systems?