New route problem

09-27-2010 03:08 PM
NagendraDhakar
New Contributor
Hello,
I am new to network analyst, so having some trouble working with it.
I have some GPS points and want to construct the corresponding route. So, I started with exporting my GPS points to ArcMap and then used 'new route', and 'add locations' sequentially to snap my GPS points to the network. Till this point, everything seems alright but after this I don't know how to proceed. I also solved my route and got the route consisting all GPS points. This route gives me total length and doesn't get any attributes from the network.
In my network I have few attributes, such as no. of lanes, functional class etc. and for my new route I want to find some coverage statistics such as, % of 2 lanes, 3 lanes.., % of functional class = 1, 2, 3 etc. Is there a way to get attributes from the network so that I can calculate some of these statistics for my route?

Thanks
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor
So it sounds like you can solve the route but need to analyze the results more.
One way can be to spatially select all the roads that overlap your route and then summarize them and the other can be to add the "traversal" results being stored in memory as a feature class to ArcMap and summarize them. The traversal results has every edge of the route with its network attributes. You can use the following link to see how to access the traversal result:

http://help.arcgis.com/en/sdk/10.0/arcobjects_net/conceptualhelp/index.html#//000100000245000000

Jay Sandhu
0 Kudos
NagendraDhakar
New Contributor
Thanks a lot.

One way can be to spatially select all the roads that overlap your route and then summarize them and the other can be to add the "traversal" results being stored in memory as a feature class to ArcMap and summarize them. The traversal results has every edge of the route with its network attributes. You can use the following link to see how to access the traversal result: