Directions in another language (VRP)

08-26-2020 01:55 AM
NelsonCosta
New Contributor

Why does solve vehicle routing problem make directions in another language, Portuguese for example, and VRP Layer / Ribbon in ArcGIS Pro not? (With the same network dataset)

Thank you

0 Kudos
11 Replies
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor

There is no ribbon or Directions pane setting for directions language at this time.  However, you can run the Directions geoprocessing tool and select the desired language in that tool.

If that doesn't give you what you want, there is a way to set the VRP layer's directions language via python.  Let me know if you want to learn about it.

0 Kudos
FCC_EnvironmentS_A_
New Contributor III

I have little experience in Arcgis / Python, but I am interested.

Can you comment on the following?
1) When there is a Portuguese language pack for Arcgis pro 2.6 (currently only for 2.5) it will be possible to have directions in pt-PT (Portuguese) by Network Analysis dropdown menu?

Language pack available for 2.5:

2) Why in Arcgis pro 2.6 the "Solve Vehicle Routing Problem" works differently than in Arcgis pro 2.5?

3) Why in Arcgis pro 2.6 the Pickup Quantities field is null in output Geoprocessing \ Solve Vehicle Routing Problem?

Lastly, sorry for my English.

Thanks a lot for the help.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

as for (2)

under the Network analyst section (quite a ways down)

What's new in ArcGIS Pro 2.6—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation 

There is some information there, not sure it applies

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
NelsonCosta
New Contributor

Thank you, I will see this over the weekend.

0 Kudos
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor

Answering question 1:

There is no drop-down menu to select the directions language. You can select the language in the Directions geoprocessing tool, or you can set the directions language for a Vehicle Routing Problem layer using the following code in the python window: