Creating a Rail network dataset?

11-12-2012 08:35 AM
BenKeller2
New Contributor II
Has anyone created a Network Dataset for rail? I am trying to create one from http://cta.ornl.gov/transnet/RailRoads.html which has a lot of good data but unfortunately I am new to Network Analyst. The Paris example makes it seem straight forward, but unfortunately it is not with this rail dataset. Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated. I just dont want to have problems with turns and hierarchy which is very restrictive for rail cars.

Thanks
Ben
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
14 Replies
RamB
by
Occasional Contributor III
Hallo,

Please explain what is your objective after creating the network ?

regards,
0 Kudos
BenKeller2
New Contributor II
I work for an asset management firm and we want to be able to analyze routes based on our historical data of how long our assets sit in facilities and how long they typically take during their travel between them. We want to be able to give accurate information of ETA's to our customers. Obviously we understand that it will not be 100% accurate but some estimations are better than nothing. This  dataset has a lot of useful information, but the description of the attributes is out of date and it does not build very well. I am trying to incorporate some restrictions for turns mostly some simple ones such as acute angles, and hierarchy since there is an attribute for main lines and etc., but I cannot seem to figure it out. Obviously a train should not be able to make this turn, and the node incorporated with that intersection does not label it as a switch and has nothing in the turn attribute column. The turn attributes consist of A,E,U,M,S,T,X,Y, Z, and blank. Without a correct description I am not sure what I can actually do with this dataset. Maybe you know a more reliable dataset? Any help would be great!

Thanks
Ben
0 Kudos
RamB
by
Hi,

Thanks. I do deal with asset management but is not bread and butter 🙂