ArcMap - Creating new route from scratch

Jump to solution
12-07-2012 05:35 AM
ObiOfoegbu
New Contributor
Hello,

I am evaluating a trial copy of ArcMap and would like to plot routes on the map so I can later optimize using Network Analyst. I am new to the software and so I have been having a lot of trouble with it.

I was able to import my data from excel and geocode origins and destinations separately. These have been saved as two different shape files layered on the map.

I would like to plot of a route of the different origins and destinations using these two distinct shape files. I tried creating a route feature class but kept getting error messages. Can someone help??

Thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor
Ah yes, that's probably the easier way to do it.  Geocode them separately, then use Load Locations twice, using the Route_Name/RouteID for field mapping both times.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
13 Replies
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor
Hi Obinem.

If you're new to Network Analyst, it would probably help you to read through the Route tutorial here: http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#/Exercise_3_Finding_the_best_route_using_a_....

However, it sounds like you already have a pretty good start on what you're trying to do.

Currently, we don't support batch routing the way you're trying to do it, with two separate tables of origins and destinations.  If the only thing you care about is creating a table showing the time or distance it takes to get between each of those origins and destinations, consider using the Origin-Destination Cost Matrix solver instead of Route.

If, however, you want to be able to display the routes on the map, you can get around the problem by doing the following:
- Put all your origins and destinations in the same file so you have only one table.  You can do this by just geocoding them all at the same time.