Saving user drawings  to server

06-25-2012 02:43 AM
viktorleonov
New Contributor
Hi, i am new to Arcgis and i have some questions.
I ve read manuals for JS Api about drawing shapes on map. The problem is i dont know how to save them to arcgis server.
I understand that i can save all the data (points polygons etc) to my server database and than adding it dynamically to the map on a client, but i want to save all this data directly to my map(like arcgis web map creation tool here http://www.arcgis.com/home/webmap/viewer.htm).

So the questions are : How can i do that? Can i do that on arcgis test servers(for my testing purposes)?
0 Kudos
6 Replies
viktorleonov
New Contributor
0 Kudos
viktorleonov
New Contributor
Maybe i can use a Webmap for this puprposes. I ve read that i need some kind of feature service to do this, but i dont know how to get it.
0 Kudos
viktorleonov
New Contributor
so, i guess its impossible?
0 Kudos
AxelSchaefer
New Contributor II
On which tier do you want to save the user-drawing?

a) Webbrowser? HTML 5?
b) Webserver? Session/Extra database?
c) Application Server? webservice to storage?
d) Database Server? classic editing workflow via webservices?

Regards,
Axel
0 Kudos
viktorleonov
New Contributor
thx for reply.
I want to save this data to argis server database, so that all geometry is loaded automatically(for example here http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/47348-How-to-save-the-drawing-done-on-the-map-by-user?highlight=sav... people suggest to save all the drawings data to my own databse as json and than load it on the client machine)

So i guess its d)Arcgis Database Server? classic editing workflow via webservices.
0 Kudos
viktorleonov
New Contributor
So how can i acomplish this? At this time I can only use web maps, to make some test applications, so I will be glad to see an example of saving drawings to server via web maps.