log from clients side esri storymaps

12-24-2015 03:49 AM
roialgavish
New Contributor III

Hello,

I am using the map tour template, in a dynamic environment. In that I mean that I send a url parameter to the app and then going to a different json (to use as web map). I want to add a script to the index file that will enable me to write a text file on my server that will log all of the entries and to where they went (by the url parameter).

I am only a client side JavaScript developer and after some time searching the web I couldn't find a good solution.  Is there any ideas?

Thank you all,

Roi.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Roi,

This is not possible with client side technology like JavaScript. You would have to use a server side tech like asp.net or some web service. You can always do some Google search for a tutorial as what you are wanting to do is relatively side a beginner should have have any issue. A simple Google Search like "asp.net write log to text file" produces lots of results and you can get Visual Studio Express for free.

0 Kudos
JordanBaumgardner
Occasional Contributor III

I have had good luck with JSNlog - Logging JavaScript errors to your server side log - JSNLog

It is a client (JS) side logging framwork/Lib that will "beam" your logs back to the server. It has several backends that work with it and all are very easily configured.

roialgavish
New Contributor III

Jordan Hello,

I tried using jsnlog only with the js option, and I failed.

I put the jsnlog.js and a jsnlog.logger in my app folder (as attached in the picture).AppFolder.JPG

I haven't done step two in the installation guide which is - Format of the log messages  Because I didn’t understand what to write there I added this line to my index.html - JL().fatal("log message");

What I get in the cosole is: RiskApp/jsnlog.logger 405 (Method Not Allowed).

If you can help me it will be grate.

thanks, Roi.

0 Kudos
JordanBaumgardner