Javascript newb, where do I go to learn?

10-22-2013 07:56 AM
MichaelThompson2
Occasional Contributor
Hi everyone,
I'm a desktop user but I want to get into developing apps. My department is paying for ArcGIS server training courses (already took one, got another one scheduled for next week) so I'm sure that will help. My problem is that I am new to Javascript and am wondering about the best way to get started with it with respect to the ArcGIS Javascript API. How much JS knowledge would some of you suggest before going down this road? And where would to recommend a newb go to attain that level of knowledge?

Thanks all!
0 Kudos
6 Replies
ReneRubalcava
Frequent Contributor
In addition to the ArcGIS JS API docs, I think there are a couple of great free resources.
A great starter is Eloquent JavaScript. It's a great intro to JS.

Since the API is built using Dojo, another good addition is the Dojo site.

Although the Dojo docs have improved greatly over the past few years, I still find they are lacking in a lot of details when you really start digging in. It would help immensely if you also took a look around the sitepen  site and their blog.

Some good links from their site.
http://www.sitepen.com/blog/2012/11/07/dojo-tutorial-dojo-start/
http://www.sitepen.com/blog/2012/12/06/learning-dojo-1-8/
0 Kudos
JoseSanchez
Occasional Contributor III
Esri has also training sessions in ArcGIS JavaScript
0 Kudos
MichaelThompson2
Occasional Contributor
Esri has also training sessions in ArcGIS JavaScript

Yeah but I only have 1 of the 3 prereqs:

Completion of ArcGIS 4: Sharing Content on the Web or equivalent knowledge is required.
Programming experience using JavaScript and HTML is required.
Completion of Introduction to the ArcGIS for Server REST API or equivalent knowledge is recommended.

That's why I am asking where to get the basic knowledge 🙂
0 Kudos
JessicaKnight1
New Contributor III