Select to view content in your preferred language

Integrating ArcGIS Maps SDK for JavaScript with React for Dynamic Map Image Layer Creation

03-07-2024 08:11 AM
2spatial
New Contributor

Hello everyone,

I am new in React and I'm currently working on a React project that involves using the ArcGIS Maps SDK for JavaScript in conjunction with React to dynamically generate map layers based on user-selected parameters. Despite following the documentation and various examples, I'm encountering difficulties in successfully creating and displaying these dynamic layers.

The core of the implementation revolves around a custom React hook (makeMapImageLayer) designed to create a MapImageLayer based on selected options and parameters from the global state. This layer is then intended to be added to a map component (ArcGISMap) rendered in a React component.

Here's an overview of the relevant parts of my code:

Custom Hook: makeMapImageLayer.ts

// Import statements...
const useMakeMapImageLayer = () => {
  // Hook logic...
  // Function to calculate queryParams...
  // Function to create the layer...
  // Effect to update runQueryOptions...
  return () => createLayer();
};
export default useMakeMapImageLayer;

Map Component: MapView.tsx

// Import statements...
const ArcGISMap = () => {
  // Component logic...
  const makeDynMapImgLayer = useMakeMapImageLayer(); // Usage of the custom hook
  useEffect(() => {
    // Map and View initialization...
    if (isRunQueryClicked) { 
      // Layer creation and manipulation...
      const layer = makeDynMapImgLayer();
    };
  }, [])
}

Despite this setup, the dynamic map layer does not render. It fails The layer creation seems to proceed without errors, but the resulting layer does not appear on the map. I suspect the issue might lie in how I'm integrating the ArcGIS SDK with React's lifecycle or possibly in the way I'm managing state and effects, but I haven't been able to pinpoint the exact cause.