Select to view content in your preferred language

How do I ZOOM into a selected value from a combox and create a POPUP to show info in ArcGIS API for JavaScript?

Jump to solution
08-21-2014 11:29 PM
TomVo1
by
New Contributor II

Hi all,

I really need your help! I am fairly new to the coding world, especially ArcGIS API for JavaScript. Let me get straight to the point. I am trying to create a web-based map application that contains information of Counties and Cities in California. Ultimately, when I select a particular jurisdiction, the map will automatically zoom into that jurisdiction and highlights its boundary. I also want to develop a popup window that illustrates some information of that selected jurisdiction.

I have been "googling" for a solution online and this is what I came up with so far. I got the list to populate but it doesn't zoom into the jurisdiction when I select it. Please look at my code below:

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html>

<head> 

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"> 

<meta name="viewport" content="initial-scale=1, maximum-scale=1,user-scalable=no"/> 

<title>Populate dropdown list with unique values</title> 

<link rel="stylesheet" href="http://js.arcgis.com/3.10/js/dojo/dijit/themes/claro/claro.css">

<link rel="stylesheet" href="http://js.arcgis.com/3.10/js/esri/css/esri.css">

<style type="text/css">body,html,#main{margin:0;padding:0;height:100%;width:100%;}</style> 

<script src="http://js.arcgis.com/3.10/"></script> 

<script> 

var map; 

var resizeTimer; 

require([

"esri/map", "esri/tasks/query", "dojo/parser", "dijit/layout/BorderContainer", "dijit/layout/ContentPane",

"dijit/form/ComboBox", "dojo/data/ItemFileReadStore","dojo/store/Memory", "dojo/on", "dojo/domReady!"],

function(Map, query, parser, BorderContainer, ContentPane, ComboBox, ItemFileReadStore, Memory, on) { 

parser.parse(); 

map = new Map("map", { 

basemap: "topo", 

//center: [-122.45, 37.75], // longitude, latitude