FeatureLayer: update-end equivalent in 4.7

Jump to solution
06-04-2018 09:01 PM
MichalGasparovic
New Contributor III

The title says it all, but I'll repeat:

- what is the 'update-end' event (v3.23) equivalent in 4.7? How do I correctly connect the 'draw end' event of the feature layer?

Those who have seen my last few posts, they know I've inquired about the popup and its issues after the refresh, where I was connecting to the 'refresh' event via 'watch'. Well, the thing is that at this very point the features are not refreshed yet as per see as the watcher apparently kicks off before the features are set fot the layer so I'm always getting the old snapshot of the data...

Thank you for all your help. Me as a developer I really miss the level of detail the previous version has offered (v3.x). The new one (v4.+) is good, but lot of information feels like it's hidden....

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ReneRubalcava
Frequent Contributor

The layers have a property called updating. This value is true when the layer is fetching data. When it's done, the value is the false.

You can watch for this property change a few ways, but we provide a utility module that offers a lot of options.

watchUtils | API Reference | ArcGIS API for JavaScript 4.7 

Here is a sample of you can watch for the updating property.

LayerView - Updating 

View solution in original post

7 Replies
ReneRubalcava
Frequent Contributor

The layers have a property called updating. This value is true when the layer is fetching data. When it's done, the value is the false.

You can watch for this property change a few ways, but we provide a utility module that offers a lot of options.

watchUtils | API Reference | ArcGIS API for JavaScript 4.7 

Here is a sample of you can watch for the updating property.

LayerView - Updating 

MichalGasparovic
New Contributor III