Select to view content in your preferred language

Bug: 4.16+ Webscene - Invalid layer item type 'Map Service', expected 'Image Service'

Jump to solution
11-14-2022 12:42 PM
Tim_McGinnes
Frequent Contributor

I've come across what I believe to be a bug in ArcGIS Javascript API versions 4.16 or greater. I have a simple webscene with elevation layer, basemap and tiled aerial imagery layer. The elevation and aerial imagery were created in Pro using Manage Tiles Cache, then exported to .tpkx, shared with Portal and published through the Portal interface. The web scene works perfectly in the Scene Viewer:

https://gisportal.scc.qld.gov.au/portal/home/webscene/viewer.html?webscene=dd5e07c09fcc4ace9e4559e16... 

However when I load the same webscene using the Javascript API I get an Invalid layer item type 'Map Service', expected 'Image Service' error, and the aerial imagery does not display:

javascript_error.jpg

Here's a CodePen showing the error: https://codepen.io/TimMcG/pen/yLEXweG (just using the Load A Basic Web Scene sample, with config for my portal)

If you change the API version to 4.15 it works, but 4.16 or later shows the error.

ArcGIS Enterprise \ Portal version is 10.8.1.

Why it's a bug:

Well, the web scene works perfectly well in Scene Viewer. It's created in the standard way using Pro and Portal - I really can't do anything differently on my side of things. The fault is clearly with the Javascript API being unable to display my scene. And 10.8.1 and 4.16 were released in the same month, so they should work together.

Thanks for any assistance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AndreasUlmer
Esri Contributor

Just adding to above reply, which adequately explains the problem.

As far as I can tell from the data, the bug was in SceneViewer 10.8.1, which somehow wrote the wrong layerType into the webscene json. How and why this happened is hard to track down now.