ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer - Highlighting a selected polygon

09-01-2011 05:15 PM
MattBrunsdon
New Contributor
Hey Guys,

I am just getting started with the API.

I have a ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer of postcode boundaries that I have successfully added to a map. I now want to be able to highlight (set the color) a polygon when it is clicked on. Is there a simple way of doing this?

Thanks for your help!
0 Kudos
8 Replies
StephenLead
Regular Contributor III
I have a ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer ...I now want to be able to highlight (set the color) a polygon when it is clicked on.

Hi Matthew,

You can set a queryTask to run when you click on the map. This will return a result, which you can display as a graphic (code snippet below):

dojo.connect(map, "onClick", executeQueryTask);

function executeQueryTask(evt) {
        query.geometry = evt.mapPoint;
        queryTask.execute(query, showResults);
      }

function showResults(featureSet) {

dojo.forEach(featureSet.features,function(feature){
          var graphic = feature;
          graphic.setSymbol(symbol);
          map.graphics.add(graphic);

});
      }

See the sample here for a working version of this.

Good luck,
Steve
0 Kudos
derekswingley1
Frequent Contributor
0 Kudos
N_Young
New Contributor II
Hello,

I have tried to follow the example very carefully, but I've had no luck.  Is there a kind soul who could please look at my attempt?

At this point I have no idea why it doesn't work.  My only thought is that the click might be focused more on navigating around the map rather than instigating the selection of a parcel.

Go to http://gis.chcity.org/test/parcel_highlight.html and view the source code for the page.

I tried to do all the steps necessary in the init function, the executeQueryTask function, and the showResults function.

Thank you!
0 Kudos
StephenLead
Regular Contributor III
I think you were missing two crucial steps.

1. You need to specify which fields the query should return: