Select to view content in your preferred language

"json is undefined"

08-21-2012 09:54 AM
KevinPerry1
New Contributor
I'm a long-time programmer, but new to using the ArcGIS API.  We are attempting to implement a website based on the Kurogo framework, an open source webapp framework that includes a mapping module which interfaces with ArcGIS map services.  Very cool.  They provide a demo which uses a nice map of Boston, and the demo runs on our server just fine.  When we attempt to re-configure it to use a locally-created map, though, it blows up in the ArcGIS JSAPI code, with "TypeError: json is undefined".  The stack trace from FireBug (below) is not very helpful, considering that lines 14 and 48 of the JSAPI v=2.4compact code are each a huge mass of unreadably compressed JS.

Obviously, I'll be posting a question on the Kurogo forum shortly as well, but I was wondering whether anyone here has useful guidance on how one is supposed to debug such problems buried deep in the JSAPI code?  Or - hoping for a miracle - perhaps a suggestion about exactly what is wrong in this particular case.  Thanks.

Stack trace:

TypeError: json is undefined
()?v=2.4compact (line 48)
()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_144()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_142()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_144()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_142()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
0 Kudos
16 Replies
derekswingley1
Deactivated User
Look for references to a variable named "json" in your code, or possibly the Kurogo code. That should point you in the right direction for the source of this error.
0 Kudos
KevinPerry1
New Contributor