Select to view content in your preferred language

Multiple Datasets for Deep Learning - Dataset preparation best practices question

04-21-2023 08:10 AM
GEOACEADMIN
New Contributor

Hi all,

Please forgive my ignorance as I am new to using the Deep Learning toolkits, but I am currently trying to use 1x1m-resolution DEM data in conjunction with orthoimagery to train a model. The orthoimagery, as downloaded from the source, is in 6-inch resolution in a separate coordinate reference system. Does anyone have any recommendations on what should be done to the 6-inch resolution file to optimize it for a machine learning workflow (to be used with DEM data)?

My first thoughts are to make the CRS match, and at least convert from imperial to metric pixel sizes. Should I resample to match the 1x1m (effectively reducing resolution, which isn't desirable if it can be avoided)? Maybe I put it into a .25m x .25m resolution? I'm not sure if any of this matters and am just looking for a nod in the right direction if anyone has a couple minutes to aid.

Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
PavanYadav
Esri Contributor

Hi @GEOACEADMIN Can you share what model architecture or deep learning workflow do you want to use? And, can you share what is the end goal of the project e.g. image translation, object detection, pixel classification or other? I am trying to understand how you will use a DEM and an Image as a training data to train a deep learning model. Will both DEM and image chips participate in the training? 

thanks
Pavan

Pavan Yadav
Product Engineer at Esri
AI for Imagery
Connect with me on LinkedIn!
Contact Esri Support Services
0 Kudos
GEOACEADMIN
New Contributor