Simple Python Question (Raster Clip)

03-05-2020 12:24 PM
JonCicarelli
New Contributor

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to scripting. I am going through Paul Zanderbergen’s Python book at the moment. I use Pro daily, but this book was written for ArcMap so I am using the ArcMap for these exercises.

Here is my question:

I am writing a script to extract land cover calcs from an input. I need to do  a raster clip to extract a raster file, but only using the rectangle extents and not a full on clip. Naturally I can get the tool in ArcMap  GUI to run just fine, but using  the arcpy.Clip_management module I cannot, for the life of me, get it to run.

Here is the code I am trying

arcpy.Clip_management(“LULC","InputFile","LULCOutput.tif","InputFile","","ClippingGeometry","NO_MAINTAIN_EXTENT")

I basically need a raster rectangle output of my input feature class to use in later parts of my script.

Can anyone help me with my syntax to get this tool to run in python? I have the rest of my  script ready to go, I just cannot get this tool to run in python.

The image attached is how my file structure is set up (C:\LandCoverScript\GDB.gdb)

Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Clip Raster—Data Management toolbox | Documentation 

look at the code example from there

arcpy.env.workspace = "C:/Workspace"
arcpy.Clip_management(
    "image.tif","1952602.23 294196.279 1953546.23 296176.279",
    "clip.gdb/clip", "#", "#", "NONE")

The environment workspace (aka folder) containing the image is specified and the rectangular extent is specified by bounding coordinates in the same coordinate system as those of the tif.

What does your script look like? 

is there a workspace set up?

Is everything in the same projection?

do you have a bounding extent specified?

A few thoughts

0 Kudos
JonCicarelli
New Contributor

All is in the same coordinate system and I have set up my work space.  I am just trying to get the syntax right for arcpy.Clip_management()