How to use Geofences?

Jump to solution
10-15-2022 09:36 AM
JonSwoveland
Occasional Contributor

Hi all, I'm fairly new to GeoEvent Server, and I'm having a heck of a time figuring out how to do something that, at least on the surface, seems like it should be straightforward.

I have two feature classes:  one point feature class representing patrol vehicles, and one polygon feature class representing patrol areas.  The goal is to update the patrol area's LAST_PATROLLED_DATE when a patrol vehicle intersects with it.

So far, I have successfully created a stream service reprenting the vehicles, and imported the patrol areas as GeoFences.  Where I'm stuck is actually using the GeoFences (I'm assuming  GeoFences and a stream service is the recommended approach). 

How does one configure a process to be triggered when a vehicle enters a GeoFenced area?  My hope is the input of this process would include the definitions of both the geofence entered, and the vehicle that entered it.

Update 1:
I"ve figured out I should be using a Filter element wired-up to my GeoFences, however I don't see any way to update the feature corresponding to the intersected GeoFence.  Is there a way to query a feature layer in a GeoEvent Service?

Update 2: 

In addition to the reply below I marked as the solution, I found this community post very helpful.  The input connector used in the post is different, but everything else seems to apply.  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Jordan
by
New Contributor II

Hi @JonSwoveland,

I have a couple of ideas for you, note I have not actually had to do the 'update feature' bit myself: