XY event point related to multiple collected points

03-16-2022 11:19 AM
MatthewCory
New Contributor

I am new to Field Maps and creating maps, most of my experience is just consuming. A little back story... We currently have septic system data stored in tables on a SQL server that is hosted and available as an XY event layer online. This data is used to feed an Access frontend. We currently enter the XY in Access when we get an application. We just randomly pick a spot for the point on the parcel. Currently every so often I recreate the event layer to update to have the new septics included.

We are preparing to change how we do installation inspections and gather measurements. We will be using a Trimble Catalyst. I was able to set up a map to use in Field Maps, make a smart form for collecting the points with a dropdown with names like tank, lateral... No problem there points collect fine and all.

Where I am getting lost is a way to select the XY event layer point which has all then data for the system and tie that point to the collected points. Not exactly sure how to explain this, so please bear with me... 

My septic table has a primary key, I would like to have that PK as a foreign key in the collected points table. The only way I have been able to do that is to enter it manually into a field when the point is collected. Even if I could start with a dropdown that I would be able to select the septic permit number from and then have a relationship to that record in the collected points table but I have not found a way to do that. I have asked the smarter GIS people within the County but no one was able to figure it out either. 

I hope I have explained this to where others can understand and thanks in advance for any help. 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
BryndaHatch
Esri Contributor
0 Kudos
MatthewCory
New Contributor