How to pass attributes from selected feature into form in Field Maps?

04-22-2021 12:02 PM
Oilrig
by
New Contributor

I am new to Field Maps and am trying to figure out what seems to be a simple issue. I would like to use the form to create a new entry, but have that entry be pre-populated with attributes of the feature that was selected.  Here is an example of desired workflow: I have a number of wells in my map. I have also created an editable feature that will house the water levels and date collected for each of the wells in my site along with an accompanying Field Maps form. I would like to be able to click on a well and enter a new water level form entry that has the Well-ID already populated based on the well being clicked.

Is this possible, and if so, how?

Currently I have everything working except I have to manually add the well name to the form. I do not want to "edit" an existing layer since I want to track the changes of water levels over time and have more than just the most recent value per well available. I also do not want to copy a previous entry and and paste a new value because it is ripe for making mistakes (i.e. certain fields may not be properly updated and old data would be inadvertently carried forward).

0 Kudos
3 Replies
GarethBaker1
Occasional Contributor III

Have you created and published a relationship between your wells layer and the table that you want to record water levels in? I think if that is published as part of your service then you should just be able to click on your well and have a related record created in the levels table automatically.

Oilrig
by
New Contributor