Arcade Expression (Logic - Required)

Jump to solution
3 weeks ago
AidosMalybayev
New Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm new to arcade and trying write a simple expression to put logic requirement in a field.

I have three string fields (field1, field2, field3) with domains values (value1, value2).

If in field1 and field2 a specific values and their combination are chosen, field3 must NOT be required for filling if at least one condition match.

I tried but it does not work. Please advise what's incorrect

DomainName($feature,"Field1")!="Value1"||

DomainName($feature,"Field1")!="Value2"||

DomainName($feature,"Field1")!="Value3"&& DomainName($feature,"Field2")!="Value1"

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KerriRasmussen
Esri Contributor
If(DomainName($feature, "Lithology") == "Tuff"){
    return false;
  }
  else if(DomainName($feature, "Lithology") == "Silica Rock" && DomainName($feature, "Protolithology") == "Tuff"){
  return false;
  }
  else if(!IsEmpty($feature["Lithology"])){
  return true;
  }
else {
  return false;
}

View solution in original post

10 Replies
KerriRasmussen
Esri Contributor

Good morning,

One suggestion I have for you is flipping your expression to the positive, meaning you will want to give the case(s) for when the field should show as required, instead of when it's not required. And when you do that you will want to use == when setting the fields equal, for example - 

DomainName($feature, "Modify_Date") == "Yes" 

It's much easier to work in the positive with Arcade. 

Kerri

RPGIS
by
Occasional Contributor III

Another option that works as well is using contingent values. This will automatically limit values based on inputs of other values.

jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

The phrase "at least one" sounds like the function Any. Put your conditions in an array, then use Any to return a true/false value if anything comes back.

Any([
  DomainName($feature,"Field1") != "Value1",
  DomainName($feature,"Field1") != "Value2",