smothening edges of interpolated map

03-02-2018 06:49 AM
HelgaGomes
New Contributor II

I am new to Spatial Analyst Tools --> Interpolation but attached are some of my attempts. When i choose Krigging as a method of interpolating i get a box which encompasses regions where I dont have any sampling points eg on the eastern side. If i chose nearest neighbor then i dont get this problem but i get these sharp angular edges which dont look nice. I would have preferred the more curved edges produced by another ocean research related software ODV in the third image. Is that possible?

Thanks

Helga

0 Kudos
9 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

The interpolation tools will produce results interpolating between known values. They are normally not very good for extrapolation outside the area covered by the available measurements. Some of them really wont create any result outside of the area. What you need is to have measurements that cover an area that is larger than the area of interest so that the interpolation result covers the area of interest. After the interpolation is finished you can mask the result to create a raster that only covers the area you want like in the ODV you have.

HelgaGomes
New Contributor II

Hi Xander,

Thanks a lot for your reply. Yes I remember having the same problem with another software package called Surfer. I am however not sure what you mean by "After the interpolation is finished you can mask the result to create a raster that only covers the area you want like in the ODV you have.". Sorry I am really a novice.

0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum