Select to view content in your preferred language

Customize widgets/code in ArcGIS Online Experience Builder?

Jump to solution
07-26-2023 04:39 AM
tcyd
by
New Contributor II

I am relatively new to ArcGIS Online and recently I built an app in ArcGIS Online Experience Builder and would like to expand it to allow end-users to modify the layers/symbology on the map displayed, or to perform spatial analysis in the Experience. Yet, the widgets on AGOL ExB is limited and this could not be done.  

As such, I am looking for solutions.  I came across this and I found that it could be done via ArcGIS API for Javascript, and I do notice you could use the Embed Widget to insert code written through Javascript. Meanwhile, I also noticed that customs widget can be built through ArcGIS Experience Builder but seems it is applicable to ArcGIS Online.

As such, I am asking whether ArcGIS Maps SDK for JavaScript (or other languages) is the only way to achieve my goal or if there are other solutions. It has to be on ArcGIS Online. Many thanks for your read and help!

Thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JeffreyThompson2
MVP Regular Contributor

Short Answer: The ArcGIS Online Version of Experience Builder probably won't get you what you need.

Let's break the long answer down into parts.

• Can you use default widgets to change map symbology? Not possible as far as I know.
  • Can you use default widgets to do spatial analysis? Yes, depending on exactly what you want to do. There are a number of widgets that can do various spatial analysis functions.
  • Can you use the Embed widget to access the Javascript API directly? No, the Embed widget only allows HTML code and even that is limited due to security concerns.