Access Related Records in Experience Builder

04-05-2022 08:04 AM
Labels (1)
jgoldman
New Contributor III

Hello,

I am attempting to access related records within an experience. I would like it so that when I click on a feature in the map, the list (or a table) I have placed in the layout will show that features related records. I am having difficulties doing this with the Actions as I am pretty new to using Experience Builder. I was wondering if anyone would be willing to walk me through the steps to do this. 

Screenshot 2022-04-05 100002.png

0 Kudos
3 Replies
ShengdiZhang
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi @jgoldman ,

I see that you are using the selected features view for the Action data, may I ask why you are not using the default view?

For the list widget, since there are brackets in the list text widgets, I assume you are also using the selected features view?

Regards,

Shengdi

0 Kudos
jgoldman
New Contributor III

Hi @ShengdiZhang ,

Thank you for your response. I was attempting to only view the related records of the selected features within the map. I am getting a little turned around in EB but I feel that the more I use it the easier these actions/triggers will come to me. Not quite understanding their functionality and how to properly use them them at the moment. 

-Jenny

0 Kudos
ShengdiZhang
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi, I assume you are using different data sources on the map (using ds 1) and the list widget (using ds 2), so when you select a record on the map widget, records on ds 2 are not automatically selected, so the selected features view for ds 2 is empty. 

If you still want to use the view of the selected features, you can add a Select data records action instead of the previous Filter data records action, to have the records on ds2 automatically selected.

ShengdiZhang_0-1649299009618.png

To avoid brackets on the list widget when no feature is selected, check the option "View for empty selection" from the Data panel.