SDE Management - Workflow

Jump to solution
08-21-2018 06:05 AM
KelseyQuinlan1
New Contributor

Hello, I am fairly new to SDE management and am looking for advice. We will be using Cityworks/Collector to have multiple departments edit GIS data. As a result, I have created a python script to automate the following steps:

1. Disconnect users/ Block Connections

2. Reconcile/ Post/ Delete Versions

3. Compress

4. Clear Workspace Cache

5. Recreate Versions

6. Accept Connections

7. Rebuild Indexes

8. Analyze Datasets

First, I welcome any critique on this workflow. -  I intend to run this after hours on a weekly basis.

Second, I am running into the issue where I am required to (re)register my database prior to republishing any MXDs due to recreating versions - but they all have the same name and permissions so I am at a loss.

We have two database connections and four versions:

What am I missing here? Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JonathanFarmer_oldaccount
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Kelsey,

I don't think you are missing anything really. 

Your geodatabase maintenance strategy looks good, I see no issues there. The only question I have is, why are you deleting the versions? Are you going for a full compress each time you run this?

I ask because it goes into your second question. Having to re-register all of those child version connections with Server is expected. See this note below that we include on our page on the topic:

"If the database you register contains a versioned geodatabase, ArcGIS Server accesses the version of that data present in the geodatabase version you set for the connection file. If you want ArcGIS Server to access different versions, you must register separate connection files to connect to these geodatabase versions. For example, you may need to register one connection file that accesses the Default geodatabase version and one that accesses a child version."